Saturday, 10 March 2018

Book Review: Assassins Hunted (Crime)

Assassins Hunted (The English Spy Mysteries #1)Assassins Hunted by Rachel Amphlett
 

Series: Book 1
Publisher: Saxon Publishing
Publication Date: 8th January 2018
Pages:  186
Format Read: eBook
Source: Author

                                                   
                                                  Blurb:

 Mother. Widow. Spy.

Eva Delacourt has been in hiding for three years after her fiancée was assassinated in cold blood outside the British embassy in Prague.

She thought she was safe.

But someone in the mysterious Section has betrayed her, and now she’s on the run for her life, sworn to protect the six-year-old boy she adores.

Her enemies are closing in, and the odds are not in Eva’s favour. For Eva, the nightmare is just beginning…

Assassins Hunted is the first part in an ongoing story involving Eva Delacourt. The story will be continued in book 2 of the English Spy Mysteries, Assassins Vengeance.

The English Spy Mysteries is a new concept by acclaimed crime fiction author, Rachel Amphlett. Combining fast-paced thrilling reads with episodic delivery in the vein of TV shows 24, Alias, and Spooks, series one is a must-read for fans of Robert Ludlum, Vince Flynn, and James Patterson.




                                                         My thoughts:

Assassins Hunted is the first in a new series by Australian Crime writer Rachel Amphlett.

Eva Delacourt has been in hiding since her fiancé was killed three years ago. However someone has found out where she is and they want her dead. Thinking the leak may be from the inside and not knowing who she can trust she turns to new CIA operative Nathan Crowe to help her escape.

All Amphlett’s books are a must read for me. I know straight away they will be enjoyable, suspenseful and well written. Amphlett has the reader on the edge of their seat never quite knowing what will happen next. The story has plenty of action and some great twists.

The first instalment in the English Spy Mysteries Series doesn’t disappoint. Told in an episodic style and ending on a cliff hanger it will have readers eager for book 2, Assassins Vengeance.

Content: no coarse language , no sex, low level violence


 My rating: 4 of 5 stars

                                                     About the author:

 

I write crime fiction and spy novels, most notably the Dan Taylor espionage novels and the Detective Kay Hunter series, as well as a number of standalone crime thrillers.

Originally from the UK and currently based in Brisbane, Australia, my writing influences include Michael Connelly, Lee Child, and Robert Ludlum. I'm also a huge fan of Peter James, Val McDermid, Angela Marsons, Robert Bryndza, Ken Follett, and Stuart MacBride.

I'm a member of International Thriller Writers and the Crime Writers Association, with the Italian foreign rights for my debut novel, White Gold, being sold to Fanucci Editore's TIMECrime imprint in 2014, and the first four books in the Dan Taylor espionage series contracted to Germany’s Luzifer Verlag in 2017.



Connect with the author at the following sites:
Website              Facebook                Twitter              Goodreads

This review is part of the Booklover Book Review Aussie author challenge 2018

No comments:

Post a Comment