Sunday, 23 September 2018

Book Review: The Night Caller (Crime/ Mystery)


Title: The Night Caller (Esther & Jack Enright Mysteries #2)
Author: David Field
Series: Book 2
Publisher: Sapere Books
Publication date: 10th May 2018
Pages: 214
Format Read: EBook
Source: Publisher 


 

Looking for your next fix of Victorian crime? Discover a new series of historical mysteries perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes, Rory Clements and Antonia Hodgson…

A shadowy presence is haunting London. Can anyone shine a light on the darkness?


London, 1891


The city is still reeling from the brutal Ripper killings and now women are once more being sexually harassed.

Someone is breaking into their homes, stealing their undergarments and leaving threatening messages behind.

With no valuables stolen and no murders committed the police fail to take the women seriously.

But when Esther Jacobs finds herself personally acquainted with one of the victims, she starts to believe something more sinister could be going on. Enlisting the help of her fiancΓ©, police officer Jack Enright, Esther is determined to solve the mystery.

Are women being targeted at random? Is it the work of a deranged sexual deviant?

Or is this a calculated attack on the women of London?

THE NIGHT CALLER is the second crime thriller in an exciting new historical series, the Esther and Jack Enright Mysteries, a traditional British detective series set in Victorian London and packed full of suspense.






I really enjoyed The Gaslight Stalker which was a fictional take on Jack the Ripper and the introduction of our intrepid sleuths Esther Jacobs & Jack Enright. You can read my review here.

The Night Caller is another well written mystery set in 1890’s London. This one isn’t as gory as The Gaslight Stalker with the main focus on an underwear thief mystery.

Esther has befriended Helen Trenchard. Helen is a staunch advocate for women’s equality in the workforce and has founded a union for working women. When working women have their homes invaded, their knickers stolen, and are left threatening notes not to join the union, the local police do not seem to take the case seriously causing Percy Enright to take the investigation into his own hands.

The story is centred round the opening of a women’s union and the brazen attempts to stop women from joining the new workers union. It highlights the working conditions for women, the class system and the poverty of the lower class. Real events are mentioned throughout to place it firmly in its time period.


Esther is determined, self reliant and outspoken. She once again uses her great investigative and analytical skills to help solve the case.

Jack is taken under the wing of his experienced Uncle and learns a thing or two about investigative policing. Sergeant Percy Enright brings humour to the story with some rather funny and politically incorrect sayings.

I am really enjoying this series. They are quick, light reads. The first was a bit gory as it centred on Jack the Ripper however this book was more mystery with plenty of humour and character development. Uncle Percy Enright has a major role and the burgeoning love story between Jack and Esther is continued as they plan their wedding day.

Field has done an excellent job with the essence of time by including real events, appropriate vocabulary and current mindset. I was as much enthralled by the characters in this book as I was by the plot.


Content: No coarse language
                No sex scenes
                Implied sexual assault

My rating 5/5                 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 

 
  

 David Field was born in post-war Nottingham, and educated at Nottingham High School.
 
After obtaining a Law degree he became a career-long criminal law practitioner and academic, emigrating in 1989 to Australia, where he still lives.

Combining his two great loves of History and the English language he began writing historical novels as an escape from the realities of life in the criminal law, but did not begin to publish them until close to fulltime retirement, when digital publishing offered a viable alternative to literary agencies, print publishers and rejection slips.

Now blessed with all the time in the world, his former hobby has become a full time occupation as he enjoys life in rural New South Wales with his wife, sons and grandchildren to keep him firmly grounded in the reality of the contemporary world.

You can connect with the author at the following sites:

Website  ||  Facebook  

 

No comments:

Post a comment